Game Overview / Synopsis

Rainbow Six is a tactical team-based shooter game franchise based on the series of novels written by Tom Clancy.

Rainbow Six Siege is the latest game in the series, and sees two teams of five attacking or defending an area. The defenders can use security cameras to scope out the attacking teams and reinforce certain areas, while the attackers can use drones to scout the location.

Teams can rescue hostages, defuse a bomb, secure an area and hunt for terrorists in the game’s different multiplayer modes. The esports scene in this game has grown massively in the past few years.

Game Specifications

Platforms: PC, PS4, Xbox One
Typical game length: Around 3-5mins per round. A minimum of 4 rounds must be won by a team to be eligible to win a game; there can be a max of 9 rounds per game.

Players: 5v5
Genre: Shooter
Price: Around £20
Publisher: Ubisoft
Notable tournaments: Pro League, Invitational, Six Major, DreamHack
Popularity: Not specified
Twitch: 1.9m hours watched in October 2016 across all viewers
Launched: December 2015 (Rainbow Six Siege)
Pegi age rating: 18
Other Pegi info: Violence towards defenceless people, strong language